Whose Life Do You Manage?

We can spend hours conjuring up ways to manage other people’s lives.

How they “should” dress. Behave. Work. Sing. Dance. Relate. Clean or don’t clean house. Dress. Drive. Raise their kids. Eat. (Feel free to fill in your own words here…)

Time to give it up.

We didn’t arrive on planet Earth to manage all of humanity. Only ourselves. I don’t know about you, but I can keep myself radically occupied just trying to handle my own choices.

Life has taught me some things.

Everyone gets to make their own choices, even if we think their choices are wrong. It is not our place to judge another – they have the right to experience and learn from their choices. To inhibit another’s options is to inhibit their learning experiences.

Other people’s directions on how we should live our life usually misses the mark. They don’t understand the whole picture. We don’t have the skill, resources, or inclination to do it their way. Balance comes when we choose the boundaries on who and what takes place in our own life.

First, I need to honestly assess myself. Tend my own garden instead of weeding my neighbor’s. Pluck the plank from my own eye before I remove the speck from another’s eye. Be the change I wish to see in the world.

It’s fascinating that when I work on myself, circumstances around me seem to improve. When I get out of the way, other people sort things out themselves quite nicely.

When we let go living other’s lives, we have more time and energy for our own growth and pursuits.

I’m giving up being general manager of the Universe. I have too many things I want to do with my own life. How about you?

Take life into your own hands and make it happen. It’s your life; Lead it. 


Follow this Cosmic Gathering blog to automatically receive future posts! (click on blue in the right-hand column on this page)

Ellie Hadsall is an author and director of Cosmic Gathering, dedicated to unconditional support for your transformational journey.


Ellie’s Latest Book: PATHWALKER  (see side bar —–>)

Review: … This is the BEST non-fiction book I have read in years. I could not put it down! The story is super engaging, Eleni, the main character, is so wise and inspiring. The story of a community based on deep respect, for the earth, for nature, and for each other, gives me hope in these times of corruption, chaos and extreme unrest… more reviews


Ellie Note: Any ads inserted below this article are advertisements selected by WordPress to support their free blogs, which I fully appreciate. The ads do not necessarily represent me or my works.

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

