A Perfect Life Unglued

On a steaming summer day in 1977, I was walking across my living room when it hit me.

I was never going to create a perfect life.

I’d been trying for years to get everything in order so I could just chill out with an awesome life, but things kept getting out of line. Unexpected bills. Emotional debris. A body that wouldn’t snap back into shape after birthing my second baby. An air conditioner breaking down in 102 degree Texas heat but no money to repair it. A neighborhood boy peddling his Big Wheels across my carefully tended marigold bed. One durn thing after another and they kept lining up to roll into my life each time I thought I had a grip on things. Troubles. Problems. Obstacles. Detours. Insurmountables.

My realization – that trouble would be inevitable – hit me like a ton of bricks.

And then a second realization hit. I could relax my grip on a perfect life!!! I could “get real”, aim for greater things, do the best I could with what life brought me, learn new insights, and that was enough.

I’ve been on constant watch ever since, to allow life to swerve and surprise, knowing each trouble offers one more chance to become more.

A wonderful caveat to this is to realize other people don’t need to be perfect either, so I can give up trying to manage all of humankind to meet my preferences.

What a relief! Now, about that neighbor who hasn’t cut his grass in two months …

Take life into your own hands and make it happen. It’s your life; Lead it. 


Follow this Cosmic Gathering blog to automatically receive future posts! (click on the blue “Follow Cosmic Gathering” in column on the right side of page)

Ellie Hadsall is an author and director of Cosmic Gathering, dedicated to unconditional support for your transformational journey.

Ellie’s Latest Book: PATHWALKER  (see side bar —–>)

Review: … This is the BEST non-fiction book I have read in years. I could not put it down! The story is super engaging, Eleni, the main character, is so wise and inspiring. The story of a community based on deep respect, for the earth, for nature, and for each other, gives me hope in these times of corruption, chaos and extreme unrest… more reviews


Ellie Note: Any ads inserted below this article are advertisements selected by WordPress to support their free blogs -which I fully appreciate. The ads do not necessarily represent me or my works.

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

