When the Mundane Becomes a Miracle

Can the mundane become a miracle? Absolutely! Life has insisted I learn this.

My favorite definition of a miracle: A shift in perception

When I heard this years ago, it hit me right between the eyes – in that area known as the “third eye”, or the “cosmic eye”. Actually – it’s the area of the pineal gland, which connects with insight. Got that? Okay, now let’s proceed.

illusion, vase or faces

A vase? Two faces? A shift in perception introduces an entirely new viewpoint.

At the time I heard this definition of a miracle, I was in the midst of a traumatic, life-shifting, “Oh-My-God-How-Do-I-Make-It-Through-This?” event. I needed a miracle as fast as a divine creator could manifest one, and if I didn’t get it, I was going to quit existing. In hindsight, this is a bit over-dramatic, but in that moment of not being able to cognize a continuing existence, it seemed pretty clear.

When we experience a trauma, we intently focus upon what happened.

We constantly replay a mental tape of the event from start to finish. We dig into every little nuance, sending showers of needles into our mind and heart. We have every right to do this. It’s how we process. I told myself “I’ll experience this pain over and over until I desensitize to it.” While that might have merit in the long run, in the short run it was freezing me into a mental and emotional victim.

I needed a miracle.

It occurred to me that if a fact could not be changed, but was too painful to endure, what if I perceived it differently? What if the situation I had just experienced could be viewed in a new light? What might that look like? This could be like Ebeneezer Scrooge’s Christmas eve night in “A Christmas Carol” where he journeyed with an angel to review his life events from a higher perspective.

So I considered what a 180 degree turn would look like. If I had no fear, no sense of powerlessness, but instead was a strong woman, how would I respond? If I went to a Wise Woman on the mountain top who, from her high, light-filled perch, saw all and knew all, what would she advise? If I practiced the virtues I had sought to live, such as compassion (in all circumstances) and harmlessness, and non-judgement, how would they apply in this situation?

I had a shift in perception.

I saw the miracle.  I could continue living life from a human, victim perspective of “I have to constantly protect myself, and make people pay the price if they hurt me“, or I could step over a line to live from a soul perspective of “I set my boundaries, I stand in my own truth, and I radiate intuitive wisdom in all circumstances, including this one”. I literally drew an imaginary line on my laundry room floor and stood looking at it. To remain where I was, in the “I’ve been wronged by life” position, was to be immersed in constant pain, anger, judgement, righteousness, victimization, and misery. All of which felt absolutely toxic. To step over the line, to shift my perception, was to step into a light that radiated a powerful energy through me, out into my future. To step over the line was to release the “me” that had to make things happen, so I could step into a higher flow that would take over and guide me. Something greater was available for me to be. Something greater I could tap in to that could transform where I had been in life, to where I could go next.

I stepped over the line.

It wasn’t easy. Some days the mundane overwhelmed me. Then I would remember stepping over the line, and immediately make choices from my new, chosen perspective.  When my mind wanted to replay the trauma-drama tape, I purposefully moved it to focus instead on how I could help someone else, or what I was grateful for. When I wanted to complain to others, I realized they couldn’t change my situation either. I clarified boundaries of what behavior I would and would not accept from others, and stood by them, sometimes shaking inside, because this was new territory that I wasn’t skilled with yet. When I felt like crying, I let the sobs roll, with comforting self-talk. When I felt anger, I jogged faster or drove my car to deserted country roads with windows down, ranting and raving to release angst so I wouldn’t store it in my cells. If I slid back into old habits of self-protection, I redrew that line in my mind and stepped over it again. When I felt stupid or unappreciated, I reviewed the many people who had reached out to encourage me in my life, and I gave special attention to look my best, not allowing myself to move into victim mode. Before going to bed and upon arising, I reviewed a written list of my strengths, and my vision of a happy future. My life became a miracle. The more I dwelt in this new realm of being a strong victor in my mind, the faster answers came, amazing solutions showed up, and in time the situation resolved beautifully, leading me into a totally new way of being.

The final miracle?

The other people involved in my traumatic situation came along with me. Each adjusted at their own rate, in their own way, yet they shifted too! I still don’t know the nuts and bolts of how that happened. I didn’t make it happen.

The miracle unfolded because I worked harder on myself than I worked on the circumstances.

When I share this awakening experience with others, they ask, “What happened?”

That is not relevant. Choose a difficult situation into this story. Consider what a shift in perception might offer you, and take the leap. So, why don’t I share the details, really? Because when I stepped over the line I promised the universe that the event would no longer be traumatic. Instead it would become an amazing, miraculous lesson to lead me into my higher nature. I’ve held myself to that.

Now, every day of my life, I see evidence of the mundane becoming a miracle.

Mullen weeds in bloom

A nuisance mullein weed growing in a yard . . .

Wild honey bee on a mullen weed blossom

or a beautiful miracle of nature?

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m still working on shifting into miracles. My life has broken through to new levels multiple times. This is what I was born to learn. It’s why living this life is a great adventure. I’m sure glad I signed up for it. Thanks for walking this journey with me.

Take life into your own hands and make it happen. It’s your life. Lead it.

Follow this blog to automatically receive future posts! (click on blue at bottom of right column)

Ellie Hadsall is an author and director of Cosmic Gathering, dedicated to unconditional support for your transformational journey.

Ellie’s Latest Book: PATHWALKER

Looking for a fast paced, insightful book to inspire your life? The first novel in my “Cave Time Chronicles”, PATHWALKER, A Soul’s Journey Through Reincarnations, which shares the amazing adventures and unfolding insights of a woman moving through her parallel lives, is now available here on Amazon!

This fantasy adventure explores existence in an unfamiliar life, facing an onslaught of crises, and out of desperation applying spiritual principles offered from multiple traditions. Are they merely wishful thinking, or do they actually work if trusted and applied? Unlike some spiritually focused books, this is not a “preachy” book, but a moving story interwoven with a wealth of inspiring life events to lead us through a rich and fulfilling life.

Ellie Note: Any ads inserted below this article are advertisements chosen by WordPress which help support their free blogs, which I appreciate. I have no control over what they choose. The ads do not necessarily represent me or my works. Thanks!

 

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

