Are careers outdated?

Perhaps careers are outdated.

How can you find a career when you don’t know what the world will be like in ten years? When you don’t know who you are or what you want to be when you grow up, even when you are in your 40’s? When what you love to do doesn’t afford a supportive income? When you are deeply embedded in work you love, and the company folds?

Living on planet Earth is a dynamic, expanding experience.

No one ever promised life to be easy or secure.  It’s time we let that go and accepted that life will be an adventure, and filled with possibilities.  We are here to learn and gain new insights.  Planetary energy has shifted and sped up, with few outside circumstances holding stable anymore. We can’t predict what the future will bring, what world governments will be, how demographics will shift, or what job skills will be needed in a rapidly evolving technological world. Spelling and writing become less relevant as smart phones and self-correcting computers do that for us. Our youngest generations already live in a radically different reality than those who are in charge of running businesses, schools and governments.

In a rapidly evolving society, work opportunities are equally evolving. But there is one thing you can count on. You. You have control over who you can “be”. Every life situation is an opportunity to become “more” as you move toward an ever-evolving self-potential. It’s a life-long mission and an exciting journey, and it won’t unfold with certainty.

Our work circumstances are one of our most potent life-learning opportunities.

f-interested-in-careerIf we discount our current career as frustrating or undesirable, we are wasting life away by blaming others and victimizing ourselves, instead of asking two key questions.

  1. “What is there for me to learn about myself in this situation?”
  2. “What can I offer to this situation?”

Once those two are addressed, we discover what the job offers us. Once that is completed, we can move on to what is next.

The sooner we learn the key life lesson in any situation, the sooner we can move on, never having to repeat that situation again.

Early on, I had no idea what career to pursue in life. I only knew that I wanted to help other people find meaning in their life. It certainly was my personal driving motivation. This meant that I had to consistently assess my own life.

I observed that every new “job” I had led me to new insights. Eventually I realized that if I worked on myself in each job position, everything around me flowed more smoothly, and the “right” next job seemed to “find” me. It’s been my observation my self-work has been the instigator of my career.

Conclusion: My true career is life itself.

As part of that, I need to appreciate and give thanks for each job, and to discover the gift. Sometimes I have had to dig deeply to find that gift. Frequently it was not about what I was getting out of my work, but what I could offer to others. A few times, the gift has been to find courage to leave a job because I was not treated with respect. In retrospect, my career of learning and growing has led me to amazing jobs that I loved, and working with wonderful people.

Each of us has our own insights to gain. It’s there; we only need to see it.

Take life into your own hands and make it happen. It’s your life. Lead it.

Follow this Cosmic Gathering blog to automatically receive future posts! (click on blue at bottom of right column)

Looking for a fast paced, insightful book to inspire your life? The first novel in my “Cave Time Chronicles”, Pathwalker: A Soul’s Journey through Reincarnations, journey of a woman moving through parallel lives, is now available here on Amazon!

This fantasy adventure explores existence in an unfamiliar life, facing an onslaught of crises, and out of desperation applying spiritual principles offered from multiple traditions. Are they merely wishful thinking, or do they actually work if trusted and applied? Unlike some spiritually focused books, this is not a “preachy” book, but a moving story interwoven with a wealth of inspiring life events to lead us through a rich and fulfilling life.

 Ellie Note: Any ads inserted below this article are advertisements by WordPress which support their free blogs, which I appreciate. I have no control over what they choose. The ads do not represent me or my works. Thanks!

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

