The Gift of Empowerment

Empowerment works in three ways. When we empower someone, they feel validated and worthy, that validating energy also surges through us, and empowered people tend to pass it on to others.

David’s story demonstrates how the gift of empowerment from another can change a life.

David was born with cerebral palsy. As a teenager riding in the car with a buddy one day, his friend guided the car over to the side of the road and instructed David, “Now it’s your turn to drive”.

David protested, “I can’t drive!”  Long before, he had given up on driving, along with many other skills his friends took for granted.

Yet his friend insisted, “Yes you can! We won’t go anywhere until you try. Let’s do it!” They adjusted the driver’s seat far forward to fit his bent legs. Bright and alert, David had watched others drive and knew just what to do. He drove. His friend helped David redesign a car’s steering to better meet David’s unique needs, they added extensions to the pedals, and David earned a driver’s license. His friend’s gift of empowerment propelled David into a new, “can-do” self image. David has gone on to live a life of “can-do”. As a motivational speaker, he has inspired countless others to exceed beyond their limits.

One validating comment can boost a life.

empower-another-2As a thirteen year old girl, experiencing fresh acne blooms and oily hair that hung limp no matter how often I washed it, I felt ugly, homely and hopeless. Sitting at the kitchen table feeling sorry for myself one Saturday, I overheard a conversation between my mother and her friend, whom I thought was beautiful, as they descended the stairs to the living room. “Eleanor is developing into a lovely young lady. You might want to consider giving her modeling lessons. She has excellent posture and carries herself so graciously!” What? Me? Really? Did I have a future after all? Her words filled me with hope and I listened to the music of her comment for years afterwards whenever I felt “less-than”.

Seek opportunities to “validate another; validate yourself.”

Is such a philosophy real? Can it be so simple? For me, it has been transformational. Each time I extend the gift of empowerment, I am self-imbued with joyful energy. The more I help others, the more joyful my life becomes. If I have difficult day, when I reach out to someone else, my energy lifts up several notches. It never fails to deliver.

When we purposefully seek to empower others, we share our divine light with them, igniting their light.

We literally feed light to each other, resulting in expanded radiance from both.

Bestow the gift of empowerment. Every day. In time, it becomes a way of being. Many fellow souls are in need of your light. Let countless sparks fly out from you!  Be the light.

Take life into your own hands and make it happen. It’s your life. Lead it.

Follow this Cosmic Gathering blog to automatically receive future posts! (click on blue at bottom of right column)

pathwalker_cover-final_1-downsized-322x183Looking for a fast paced, insightful book to inspire your life? The first novel in my “Cave Time Chronicles”, Pathwalker: A Soul’s Journey through Reincarnations, journey of a woman moving through parallel lives, is now available here on Amazon!

This fantasy adventure explores living in an unfamiliar setting, facing an onslaught of crises, and out of desperation applying spiritual principles offered from multiple traditions. Are they merely wishful thinking, or do they actually work if trusted and applied?

 Ellie Note: Any Video’s inserted below this article are advertisements by WordPress which support their free blogs, and I have no control over what they choose. They do not represent me or my works. Thanks!

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

