The Gift of Insight

As a college sophomore subsisting on loans, I was thrilled when my boyfriend, Ron, suggested we go Christmas shopping together. He wanted me to try on dresses so that he could choose one for my present. I found a dress I absolutely adored – a hot pink knit with a black patent leather belt. I gave strong hints that this was the gift I wanted. When he invited me to spend Christmas with his family and casually mentioned, “Bring a dress and your black patent shoes in case we decide to go dancing”, I knew I was getting that dress!

Christmas morning his family gathered around a brightly ornamented, sparkling tree surrounded with layers of presents. In my childhood, we had often been too poor to even buy a tree, so this was a wondrous treat. I received delightful gifts from his family, yet I kept waiting for that big dress box. Finally, he handed me my gift – in a box so little it wouldn’t even hold the belt buckle! I was sorely disappointed but pasted on a suitable smile, removing the paper, hoping my fake look of eager anticipation was working. Inside was a satin box. I opened it to reveal a beautiful, dainty, gold wrist watch. Speechless, I looked at him. He explained, “You always ask me what time it is, so I thought you could use one. I didn’t want you to guess, so I misled you a little. Hope you’re not too disappointed about that dress.”

r-e-xmas-frameWhat he did not know was that as a little girl I had dreamed of owning a gold wristwatch. No one in our family owned a watch. I had vowed to myself, “Someday, Ellie, you’ll have a gold watch and when you do, you will know you have made it in this world.” I realized this insightful man understood me deeply. He did and he does. We’ve been married forty-nine years and he still never ceases to surprise me!

May you bestow insightful and empowering gifts during this Holiday Season!

Take life into your own hands and make it happen. It’s your life. Lead it!

This is the first in a blog series of “Gifts” to offer that are not physical, but heart-felt, and available for any occasions – including any-ol’-day!

Follow this Cosmic Gathering blog to automatically receive future posts! (click on blue at bottom of right column)

pathwalker_cover-final_1-downsized-322x183Looking for a fast paced, insightful book to inspire your life? The first novel in my “Cave Time Chronicles”, Pathwalker: A Soul’s Journey through Reincarnations, journey of a woman moving through parallel lives, is now available here on Amazon!

This fantasy adventure explores living in an unfamiliar setting, facing an onslaught of crises, and out of desperation applying spiritual principles offered from multiple traditions. Are they merely wishful thinking, or do they actually work if trusted and applied?

 Ellie Note: Any Video’s inserted below this article are advertisements by WordPress which support their free blogs, and I have no control over what they choose. They do not represent me or my works. Thanks!

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gift of Insight

  1. thepensives says:

    What a beautiful story!

    Like

  2. Betty says:

    What a sweet, sweet story. Wish I would have known you better when we were growing up.

    Like

    • I know, same here about knowing you. Interesting how little we know about fellow students, even when we see them everyday at school. It is delightful to finally get to connect with you this way, Betty!

      Like

Leave a Reply

