Wacky Vegan Chocolate Cake

This eggless, butterless, milkless cake was popular during World War II when the egg and dairy ingredients were scarce. It is the most moist, delicious chocolate cake I’ve ever come across. Many people mistakenly think it is a mayonnaise cake. It’s always a hit!

Wacky Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup baking cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 cup cooking/salad oil
  • 1 Tbs vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)

Directions

  • Sift together the flour, cocoa, salt, sugar and baking soda.
  • Add remaining ingredients. Blend well but don’t beat too hard.
  • Bake in greased loaf pan or 8×8 square cake pan at 350 Fahrenheit for approximately 30 minutes. It is done when an inserted toothpick pulls out clean.
  • Makes 12 cupcakes, or 1-1/2 or double the recipe for a Bundt cake pan or 9×13 pan.
  • If made with Gluten Free or Einkorn Flour, being sure to include the correct binder to compensate for gluten. Contact me for additional info if you use Einkorn.
  • You can make vegan vanilla or chocolate butter cream frosting using your choice of nut milk and an alternative vegetable oil “butter”.

Try this  and you may never use another chocolate cake recipe. I’ve intended to take photos of the full cake but it always gets eaten by family before I get to it. I confess – I usually eat a significant  amount of the batter!

Variations

  • Substitute left over coffee, or orange juice, for the water.
  • Add coffee, almond, or orange flavoring to the frosting.

You might also want to try my Easy Peanut Butter Cookies for the holidays!

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wacky Vegan Chocolate Cake

  1. Taylor says:

    Hello! I’m wondering if you may be able to give me more information on making this cake with einkorn flour. Thanks so much!

    Like

    • Hi Taylor,

      I’m happy to help with Einkorn substitutions.

      Use 1 1/2 Cup Einkorn flour. Add 3 Tablespoons flax meal in with the other dry ingredients (this helps bind the batter, because Einkorn lacks sufficient gluten). Decrease the water down to 3/4 cup. Beat the batter well so that the flax meal will release it’s binding properties well.

      As a general rule of baking with Einkorn, I add 2 tablespoons flax meal for each cup of einkorn flour. I decrease the liquid by 20%. Einkorn can take a bit longer to bake than regular flour – it can look browned and finished on the top, yet not be finished in the middle, so be sure to insert a toothpick in the center of a cake to assure it pulls out clean.

      That’s it! Einkorn cake texture is not quite as refined as usual white flour but everyone loves it! Let me know if you have more questions.

      Enjoy!
      Ellie

      Like

      • Taylor says:

        I appreciate it so much! I’ve just entered the wonderful world of Einkorn and it’s been so fun and delicious! I’ll be making this cake for a special birthday and I can’t wait!

        Taylor

        Like

      • Taylor, let me know how it goes! I recommend not using a Bundt pan the first time you make it – I’ve successfully made this recipe in one, but a few times the cake fell apart when I inverted the pan. And if you come up with any einkorn hints, send them to me!

        Like

  2. Taylor says:

    Ellie,

    I just wanted to come back and let you know that the cake came out perfectly! I subbed the sugar for vanilla coconut sugar and then left out the vanilla extract and it was insanely delicious. My partner and I have been on an eleven month journey of trying to detect some food intolerances and this was the first baked dessert good we’ve had the entire time. My birthday is coming up in a few weeks and I will definitely be requesting she make me this cake! I appreciate all your help so much!

    Like

    • I am delighted! It’s one of the few vegan cakes that never disappoints. Funny, I just pulled out some coconut sugar I had forgotten I had and was wondering what to bake with it. Now I know! Thanks for the feedback, and happy birthday to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

