Help! My Day Has Been Hacked!

Today is “one of those days”.

It started off innocently enough. I got up on time, ran through my usual morning routine. So far so good.

Then my granddaughter arrived to spend the day, with a hip out of place, causing her to limp and struggle to move around. Her mom made  an appointment to take care of it but in the meantime – there goes my plans for us to wash the car and run errands. And she was going to earn money toward a new skateboard by washing the car with me. Most of all, she was looking forward to blasting me with the sprayer when I wasn’t looking.

Next, I poured fish fertilizer into a watering can to water patio flowers and accidentally knocked the bottle over onto the kitchen floor. Now I get to thoroughly mop up and wash the floor, wash the rug, and wash all the towels and rags I used to clean up the mess. This means two loads of laundry and lugging them to our apartment community’s laundromat. Meanwhile our apartment smells like I just returned from a fishing trip and enthusiastically gutted the fish at our kitchen sink. Actually, I’ve never done that, but its how I imagine it would smell. Thank heaven for incense! And later today, if I have time between mopping floors and doing laundry, I’ll do a small fire ceremony to clean out the air in here.

Hmmm – the morning is unfolding quite interestingly. Next, I open my email to learn that my website has been hacked. Dreamhost has taken it off line, placing it in protective status until the culprit is determined. I have absolutely NO clue how to follow the instructions they sent me to resolve the issue. It’s spoken in web-ish lingo  and may as well be Martian in its origins. This story yet to be resolved…

Why am I telling you all this? …
Because I have nothing to complain about, and so much to be thankful for!

Our granddaughter is a real trooper. She doesn’t complain, she adapts to sit in a chair instead of on the floor, she still smiles, sings, and laughs. How does it get any better than this?

The fertilizer I spilled feeds beautiful flowers on our patio. I gaze out upon them every day and they always nod hello. Wild flies and bees dance around them and the hummingbird buzzes in to feed. How does it get any better than this?

sun umbrella vine jul 2014, M Hills, cropped

patio flowers

I have a kitchen floor to spill things upon. Only last night we watched a PBS special about homeless children. I’ll bet they’d love to trade places with me! I have a roof over my head, a place to feel safe, and friendly neighbors. How does it get any better than this?

I have a website that brings in new friends and helps me connect with the world. I’ve received emails from Australia, Norway, and Argentina, as well as across the U.S. When it suddenly got hacked, Dreamhost has protections set into place to protect me, and this is the only time it’s had a problem  in four years. I have a cheerful webmeister who helps me sort it out, charges a reasonable fee, and she even speaks English! How does it get any better than this?

Guess what I’m sharing with you, and myself, too, is that when it’s “one of those days” – it’s not! It’s simply another day with it’s own gifts and surprises, a day to be lived with the most constructive outlook I can concoct, and a day to be thankful.

As a wise man told me many years ago – it is up to me to MAKE it a good day!

Here are  suggestions to get through a challenging day:

1. Think of a way to shift your thoughts back into constructive mode. Then do it! “Knowing” doesn’t change life; we have to act upon our knowing.
For example, if someone hits you with a nasty attitude, how can you shift your energy back to a positive vibe? Say something to make someone else feel good? Think of three people you know who care about you? Make up a wild story about why they are so nasty, such as their car broke down, making them late for work and their boss just chewed them out; or maybe their husband just learned he has prostate cancer; or their childhood was rough and they never learned how to be kind; or they are having “one of those day” too, and don’t know the tools to handle it like you do?

2. Create positive experiences to balance out the day’s challenges.
Again, do something nice for someone else. When you offer positive energy, you receive it!  Its easy to do, costs nothing, needs no supplies or materials, and requires no special training. Nod and give eye contact to a homeless person standing on a corner. Send an email to a co-worker thanking them for helping you out. Give a bigger than usual tip to a server. Give a  yummy chocolate bar or thank you  note to your postal carrier, dry cleaner, or that checker that always smiles at you when you buy groceries.

3. Place your attention on something other than your problem.
This is the practice of meditation in action. In meditation we focus upon a desired image, sound, or thought to keep our vibration calmed and open. In daily life we can likewise choose where to focus our thoughts. So, if my car won’t start today, necessitating a ride to work with a co-worker, and I can’t do anything about it right now, I can give attention to what I CAN do in this moment. Then when the time is right to address my car issue again, I can do so. This minimizes worry and maximizes results of today. My best action for today creates a better tomorrow.

4. Examine why a situation arose and consider remedies for the future.
If you locked yourself out of the house again, hide an extra key somewhere in the yard or in your car so you don’t get locked out next time. If I spilled fish fertilizer on my floor, maybe I should open the bottle and pour it into the watering can within the sink from now on. I’ll let you know if that doesn’t work.

5. Don’t be hard on yourself.
So what if you don’t do everything perfectly? So what if you spilled honey all over the counter, burned the bacon, bumped your shin on the end table that’s been in the exact same spot for three years, locked your keys in the car again, or you accidentally deleted five emails? Will life stop? Will you lose the “be a perfect person” contest? Will your karma be messed up for seven lifetimes? I think not. You’ve simply had one more day on Planet Earth, with the usual ups and downs. No worse and no better than anyone else. Lessons to learn and positive things to offer to others.

Interesting – This morning’s events prompted me to write this blog, and now that I’m done, I just received an email that my website is cleared up and re-posted. So, there you have it. I could have stewed around all day and lost precious time in worry. Instead my day moved on and the problem took care of itself.

It’s been said eighty percent of the things we worry will happen – never happen. I think I’ll agree with that.

Ellie_laughingWant support on your life journey? Ellie is available for personal and spiritual mentoring. She assists you to clear the unwanted, connect with higher levels of consciousness, intuitive readings, resolve stuck circumstances, surmount obstacles, shift and stabilize your view of life into a positive zone, connect with your Divine nature, and become the valued Being you came to be.

Clients experience no judgment, only new clarity and empowerment! For more information: http://www.CosmicGathering.com. Consults are available in person, on phone or via Skype.

Ellie Note: Any advertisements inserted below this article are chosen by WordPress to support their free blogs, yet I have no control over what they choose. The ads do not represent me or my works. Thanks!

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

