Gottcha!

Did you ever mess something up royally or get caught doing something you thought you had gotten away with?

I was thinking of this recently when I had a very busy day but was out of homemade bread and wanted some. So…knowing better than to bake in a hurry…I ignored my inner wisdom and stirred up a double batch of soda bread, poured it into baking pans, and placed them in the oven, feeling quite smug about how well it all went.

I began washing  dirty dishes only to discover a sauce pan with a half cup melted butter sitting on the stove. It was supposed to be in my bread mixture! Help!! Panic!!  I yanked the pans out of the oven – the batter was warm and they had slightly started to rise – and dumped the batter into a big bowl, added the butter, mixed it all together with a sincere apology to the ingredients, hurriedly washed, dried and re-buttered the loaf pans, then placed them back in the oven – only to find I had somehow turned off the oven during my panic and now had to re-warm it! OH BOTHER! So…I placed the filled pans back in the oven which was still partially hot, and restarted the oven. NOT the way to bake bread, for sure.

EinkornSodaBreadMar2014_13_resizedHere is a photo of the end result so I won’t complain. The loaves aren’t as tall as usual and it won’t win a state fair contest but the texture and taste is great. Whew! I made it through this one. (I will add this recipe and directions in the next post.)

As a girl, in evening after everyone was in bed, I closed my door for privacy and sat by my open window gazing out at the star-filled Kansas sky singing every song I knew. Years later when the sound of our girls’ laughter drifted out of their window to enter into ours, I realized that my childhood voice had drifted out my window, over to my parent’s window only 10 feet away, and serenaded them night after night. They never said a word.

In his college years, our friend Dennis started to grow a mustache but, because he had blonde hair, in its early days it just looked silly. He had a date with girl he wanted to impress, so he put some of his sister’s mascara on his thin blonde mustache to darken it up and it looked pretty good. He and his date had a great night and when he took her to the door he discovered black mascara smeared all over her upper lip from when they kissed! Embarrassed, he forewarned her and she washed it off before her roommates could discover it. It turned out alright – they married and it’s been a good one.

Speaking of dates, in high school I went on date with my hair ratted up into a large bubble, held carefully in place by a half-can of hair spray (don’t laugh – we thought it was beautiful!) My date and I made out in the car (not sure what they call that now…), and came into the house thinking I looked innocent. I talked with Mom and Dad about the evening, then went up to my room only to discover in my dresser mirror that the right side of my hair was fluffed out as normal but the entire left side of my hair was flat as a pancake. Again, they never said a word.

As this blog demonstrates, I am still at it after all these years – making mistakes and getting caught. Oh well, it keeps me humble!

Here’s to the “Gottcha” events in your life! Enjoy them!

 

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

