A Gift of Empowerment

David was born with cerebral palsy. As a teenager riding in the car with a buddy one day, his friend guided the car over to the side of the road and instructed David, “Now it’s your turn to drive”.  David protested, “I can’t drive!”  To which his friend replied, “Yes you can! Let’s do it!” They adjusted the driver’s seat far forward to fit his bent legs. Bright and alert, David had watched others drive and knew just what to do. He drove. His friend helped David redesign a car’s steering to better meet David’s unique needs and soon David successfully earned a drivers license. His friend’s gift of empowerment propelled David into a new, “can-do” self image. David has gone on to live a life of “can-do”, inspiring countless others to exceed beyond their limits.

Dana watering sunflowers, piermont aummer 2009

Empowerment means taking a moment to offer something of value to another.

One reassuring comment can boost a life. As a thirteen year old girl, experiencing fresh acne blooms on my formerly clear skin, and oily hair that hung limp no matter how often I washed it, I felt ugly, homely and hopeless. Sitting at the kitchen table feeling sorry for myself one Saturday, I overheard a conversation between my mother and her friend, whom I thought was beautiful, as they descended the stairs to the living room. “Eleanor is developing into a lovely young lady. You might want to consider giving her modeling lessons. She has excellent posture and carries herself so graciously!” What? Me? Really? Did I have a future after all? Her words filled me with hope and I listened to their music for years afterwards whenever I felt less-than.

In my twenties, I was introduced to the concept of “Help another; help yourself.” Was such a philosophy real? Could it be so simple? I discovered that every time I intentionally encouraged another, I was self-imbued with a joyful energy. Cool! The more I helped others, the better I felt in my own life. If I had difficult day, when I reached out to help someone else, my energy lifted up several notches. I was onto something amazing.

I developed a habit of seeking opportunities to empower others.  One December evening, my husband and I attended the Christmas party at a company where he was newly hired as a manager. I would be introduced to the chief executive officer and his staff so I was nervous about making a good impression. As we entered the party room, we met several people and then Ron was engaged in a conversation about business. I looked around for someone to talk with. Everyone seemed to know everyone else and all were engaged in conversation. Maybe I could strike up a conversation with someone else who was as uncomfortable as me and help us both feel better. But who? There! Across the room a meek woman stood with drooping shoulders, hugging her drink and looking forlorn. Aha! She was my target. I headed over, we exchanged first names, and to start conversation I chatted about a recent funny incident with our dog at the veterinarian. Her eyes immediately lit up, her posture straightened; she nodded and blurted out, “I love animals! We raise horses!” I asked her to tell me about the horses, and spent the next thirty minutes learning details on raising purebred Arabian horses, how to breed and show them, their various personalities, and laughing constantly with her as she transformed into a vivacious woman before my eyes. We were having a grand time when her husband arrived, nodded hello to me, put an arm around her and said, “Honey, we are about to begin. It is time to be seated.” She hugged me, thanked me for our wonderful conversation, and then she and her husband walked up to the head table where they were seated in the center at the podium. My new friend was the wife of the CEO!  A few days later he stopped by my husband’s office to tell him how much his wife enjoyed meeting me. I later learned she was suffering from depression and that our Christmas party conversation lifted her spirits for the first time in weeks.

When we purposefully seek to empower others, we share our divine light with them, igniting their light. We literally feed light to each other, resulting in expanded radiance from both.

Bestow the gift of empowerment. Set a goal to do so at least once each day. In time, it becomes a way of being. Many fellow souls are in need of your light. Let countless sparks fly out from you!  Be the light.

Want support on your life journey? Ellie is available for personal and spiritual mentoring. She assists you to resolve stuck circumstances, surmount obstacles, shift and stabilize your view of life into a positive zone, connect with your Divine nature, and become the valued Being you came to be.

Clients experience no judgment, only new clarity and empowerment! For more information: http://www.CosmicGathering.com. Consults are available in person, on phone or via Skype.

 

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

