Enjoy the Unpredictability of Life

Life is not predictable these days. I have decided to enjoy this. We watch a movie and love the adventure, then turn to our own life and expect predictability! I finally decided to live my life as a movie (that is what it is, anyway). I’ll set clear intentions, act on my plans, and then follow what arrives, trusting it takes me where I intend to go. It always does if I just let go my personal demands of how it “should be”, and instead follow the gifts that arrive. The trick is to see the gift in an event that at first appears to be totally unlikable!

In December, my husband and I finally had two days free. So we planned a day and overnight stay in Santa Fe, walking around enjoying the art and Christmas decorations of the charming old square. The day arrived bringing with it a freezing, windy, winter snow storm. Bummer! Now what should we do? Change of plans! For the first time we went online to Priceline to bid for a classy Santa Fe 4-star hotel and got it for only $45 a night. For less than half the usual price, the hotel was beautiful, our room faced the mountains where we could cozy up on the bed, watching the falling snow. Opting for a movie, we discovered a theater precisely across the street. After the first movie, why not another? The second one started in an hour so we walked through curtains of snowflakes to find a restaurant. Fifty yards away was a delightful little restaurant which we later learned was one of the best of Santa Fe. Returned for a second movie and spent the remaining evening laying our plans for the new  year.

Not what we intended, but far, far better. Now if I can just keep that in mind as 2012 brings its surprises…

 

Ellie Note: Any Video’s inserted below this article are advertisements by WordPress which support their free blogs, and I have no control over what they choose. They do not represent me or my works. Thanks!

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

