Enjoy Life Now

I am giving myself a helpful lecture this morning, so I thought I’d share it with you!

I find myself thinking, “I’ll get x, y, and z done and THEN I’ll relax and do something fun”. Frequently, once  x, y, and z are done, then I remember I didn’t do v and w!  If I follow this practice, I’ll never have fun! So I’m focusing on doing the following to move me into more fun! “It’s the journey that is valuable, not the destination.”

1) I can create enjoyment while doing x, y, and z. If I “need” to clean out my business client files, while doing so I can visualize new clients coming into my life bringing wonderful new karmic connections that benefit us both. I’ll have mental room to work with them once I organize and refine the files of current and past clients. I can send love and blessings to each client as I handle their paperwork. The visualizations are enjoyable and my energy is moving forward. I can also have a special cup ‘o joe, or listen to good tunes, dancing back and forth from file cabinet to computer.

2) I can look at  x, y and z as positive choices that move me toward my goals. If they aren’t positive choices, then I need to revise them. If I spend time cleaning the house because I “have” to, it is work. If instead I clean the house preparing it for our next meditation gathering, it is a loving gesture that inspires me to re-arrange furniture or put out a fresh vase of flowers. If I am cleaning my house because my high school Home Economics instructor said I should do it weekly, and today my granddaughter wants to go outside to build a snow woman and make snow ice cream, my house cleaning is a mistake! I need to go play with my granddaughter.

3) I can look for ways to empower others as I do my tasks. When shopping, I can look for opportunities to offer appreciation to store employees and other shoppers. With these ideas in mind, yesterday I found myself in a checkout lane where the woman in front of me needed a price check. Our cashier was new and nervously trying to follow procedures. I chose to reassure them both that my waiting was fine. I, too, have had to hold up a line for a price check. We all joked about “getting in the wrong line” and the new cashier relaxed. Instead of becoming frustrated, I walked out feeling even better. Last night I spent New Year’s Eve picking my daughter up at the airport. When paying the parking fee at the booth, I thanked the obviously bored booth attendant for working on a holiday evening so people like us could use the airport. She lit up, her eyes smiled, and she thanked me. It only took a minute, but my New Year’s Eve lit up as well.

4) I can schedule in fun time. With our busy lives, my husband and I find we don’t take time to just chat, something we love to do. So we have scheduled one week night for us. We will hang out, go out to eat, watch a movie, walk, take a motorcycle ride, or whatever strikes our fancy. If we mutually decide to do other projects that night instead, we will reschedule “our” night right then.

5) We can find inexpensive ways to celebrate life. Pack a lunch to take on a mountain hike. Go to Restaurants.com to purchase a discount coupon for a local restaurant we have never been to. Go to Priceline.com to bid for a nice hotel at a cheaper rate. Rise early and drive to Bosque del Apache wildlife refuge to experience the calls and beating wings of thousands of Sandhill cranes lift off at sunrise. Skype friends we haven’t seen in years. Call up friends to come over for dinner. This list is endless. Best is to try something new, moving us out of our comfort zone. This shifts our energy out of old patterns and opens up space for new, fresh experiences enter our life.

 

Ellie Note: Any Video’s inserted below this article are advertisements by WordPress which support their free blogs, and I have no control over what they choose. They do not represent me or my works. Thanks!

About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

