Finding the Gem of the Moment

Yesterday I was determined to complete my long overdue task list. Early afternoon I received an unexpected request to pick up our 7 year old granddaughter from her after-school program. This meant dropping my work flow to pick up another flow – grand mothering. I shifted into this next mode and drove to her school. Her request? “Lets go to M….’s for a happy meal and play on the slides!”. This recurring journey we take to M….’s is not my idea of quality time with her! I always pictured baking cookies, sipping hot chocolate, and making snow women in the back yard. We’ve done all that, but ONE time of going to M….’s  started a new tradition. Oh, well, new generation right?

Surprisingly, I’ve enjoyed it! I realized I’ve been judgmental about it all. Time for an updated, fresh view of life. Here’s my thinking:

1) Her parents assure she eats healthy food most of the time. So what is one crappy burger every few weeks if it brings sublime joy? Personal note: when I was in grade school, during summer break my mother made me spend quiet time in my room after lunch. One day I decided to go downstairs for a drink of juice. There I discovered my Mom sitting at the table with a huge bowl of chocolate chips and peanuts, happily munching away. When she saw me, she sheepishly smiled, offered me some and said, “Well, I guess you caught me!”. See? Even my Mom, who wouldn’t let us eat candy or have too many sweets, was a real person after all. Who wants a mother or grandmother who is perfect? That’s terrible role model to try to live up to! So I help out with this when I can…

2) When at M….’s, she immediately makes new friends and they all complain in a loud chorus when we need to leave. Her comment to me now is, “Let’s go to M….’s so I can see my friends!” How wonderful that everyone is a friend to her. She readily plays with all ages, races and personalities. It’s sort of like social networking for first graders – in person!

3) Yesterday as we settled down to dine, she offered, “I wish my friend “Diana” was here.” Guess who walked in a few minutes later? Yep. This made me again aware that we can manifest whatever we wish if only our faith and intention is clear.

4) She reminds me to not be attached, to find the gem in every moment, to be ready to expand my cosmic view.

5) I recently read that one of the top 5 regrets people express on their deathbed is to have not spent more time with their loved ones. How lucky I am!

This post is NOT about children. Or the merits of being a grandmother, nutritional food, or social networking. This post is about flexibility in our thinking, releasing expectations so we can embrace what the Universe is trying to bring into our life! It’s what, on our highest and best level, we have created for ourselves. Right now.

 

Ellie Note: Any Video’s inserted below this article are advertisements by WordPress which support their free blogs, and I have no control over what they choose. They do not represent me or my works. Thanks!


About Ellie Hadsall

My life is a journey with insights and gifts being revealed as I move forward. Every one I meet is a companion on this adventure. Together, we ride a wave of transformation. Let's leave the old behind and move through new portals! After a long, fulfilling career in human resource, personal development, and motivational speaking, I am currently a spiritual mentor, author, intuitive, Kriya minister, Vedic fire ceremony practitioner, meditation teacher and spiritual friend.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

